Map of Turkey Geographical Regions

Map of Turkey Geographical Regions
Description : Map showing seven geographical regions of Turkey. Disclaimer

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Turkey is divided into seven geographical regions (bölge) by climatic and geographic formations.

The regions are:
  • Aegean region
  • Black sea region
  • Central Anatolia region
  • Eastern Anatolia region
  • Marmara region
  • Mediterranean region
  • South Eastern Anatolia region

Each of these regions is further divided into sections (bölüm) and areas (yöre).

The Aegean Region is located in western Turkey along the Aegean sea. It has the longest coastline.

The Black Sea Region has the highest annual precipitation, largest forest area, fewest sunshine hours and most landslides. The region has an oceanic climate and a rocky coast.

The Central Anatolia Region has a semi-arid continental climate and the lowest annual precipitation.

The Eastern Anatolia Region has a continental climate and a large area with high altitude. This region has the highest temperature difference between the seasons. Eastern Anatolia is also a low populated region of the country.

The Marmara Region has a mediterranean climate. It is the densely populated of all regions.

The Mediterranean Region has a mediterranean climate in the coastal areas and semi-arid continental climate in the interiors. It is a mountainous region and experiences the highest annual temperature.

The Southeastern Anatolia Region has a semi-arid continental climate with very hot and dry summers and cold and often snowy winters.

Last Updated on: October 12th, 2017