Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Micronesia / Islands of Federated States of Micronesia

Islands of Federated States of Micronesia

Micronesia islands form the Federated States of Micronesia. Located in the North Pacific Ocean, it lies close to the Indonesian and Hawaiian islands. The name of the island stands for its size as it means "small islands". The Micronesian islands namely Guam, Saipan, Chuuk, Yap, Kosrae and Pohnpei have been incorporated into Micronesia and have been accorded with the right of self-governance.

Guam is the biggest of the Micronesia islands in respect to its area. It occupies an area of approximately 212 square miles and inhabited by a relatively small population. The island boasts of a developed economy. Saipan, another Micronesian island is the home to the Chamorro as its inhabitants are called. It is a very small island and only 16 miles long and is just 8 miles in width. Chuuk has the highest density of population amongst all islands in the Federated States of Micronesia. The island is largely made up of atolls. The surface of the Chuuk Lagoon is characterized by a series of volcanic islands. The state of Yap includes as many as eleven populated islands. The population of the state uses as many as thee languages including Ulithian, Woleaian and Yapese. Spanning over just 43 square miles, the Kosrae state has a more or less rural economy.

Pohnpei is the capital of the Federated States of Micronesia. Most of its population is concentrated on the Pohnpei islands. The state has witnessed a recent spurt in the number of tourists visiting the island and the natural beauty of the island is an important factor behind that.

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."

For further info please get in touch with us at