Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
Maps / Luxembourg / Luxembourg Government and Politics

Luxembourg Government and Politics

Luxembourg government and politics is based on a constitutional monarchical form of government. The government of Luxembourg has got 3 branches. They are the executive, legislative and the judiciary.
The constitution was adopted on 17th October, 1868.

The Prime Minister is the head of the Luxembourg government. He is elected democratically by the people of Luxembourg. The Grand Duke is the chief of the state. The position of the monarchy is hereditary. The legislature works in coordination with Parliament, the government and the Council of State. The judiciary executes its functions independently.

The major political parties that play a significant role in the politics of Luxembourg are:
  • Christian Social People's Party or CSV
  • Democratic Party or DP
  • Luxembourg Socialist Workers' Party or LSAP
  • Action Committee for Democracy and Justice or ADR
  • Green Party
There is a multi-party system in Luxembourg. The political parties of Luxembourg are very much concerned about the local issues. A person is entitled to cast vote, if he/she has completed the age of 18 years. For contesting in the election, the person has to be a citizen of Luxembourg and he should not be a judge or a member of the Council of States. The last election took place in 2004.

FAQs and Answers on History and Geography

EU GDPR Update
MapsofWorld has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofWorld Privacy Policy and Terms.
For further info please get in touch with
Bill Spicer Executive VP, MapXL
For US Queries
  (408) 637-0064