World Map of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Uruguay Map / Political Map of Uruguay

Political Map of Uruguay

Political Map of Uruguay Montevideo City Rivera City Tacuarembo Paysandu City Maldonado City Salto City ARGENTINA BRAZIL
Description:Uruguay Political map showing the international boundary, departments boundaries with their capitals and national capital. Disclaimer

Uruguay political map displays the departmental boundaries, their capitals and the national capital. The administrative departments are colored differently and are separated with broken lines for instant differentiation.

The department capitals feature in white squares and the black dots represent the major cities. The red dot on the map of Uruguay points the national capital.

Location and Geography of Uruguay
The political map of Uruguay shows the location of the country in the southern part of South America. The country borders with Argentina and Brazil and the Atlantic Ocean. The latitudinal and longitudinal extent of the country is 33° South and 56° West respectively. Of the total area of 176,220 square kilometers, the total land area covered is 173,620 square kilometers and the area covered by water is 2,600 square kilometers. 660 kilometers make up the coastline of the country. The lowest point of the country is Atlantic Ocean and the highest point is Cerro Catedral, situated 514 meters above sea level.

Uruguay Administrative Departments and Capitals
The administrative departments of the country feature in different colors on the Uruguay map. The administrative capitals are pointed with white squares. They are listed below:
  • Artigas- Artigas
  • Salto- Salto
  • Rivera- Rivera
  • Paysandu- Paysandu
  • Tacurembo- Tacurembo
  • Rio Negro- Fray Bentos
  • Cerro Largo- Melo
  • Trientay Tres- Trientay Tres
  • Duranzo- Duranzo
  • Soriano- Mercedes
  • Flores- Trinidad
  • Florida- Florida
  • Lavalleja- Minas
  • Rocha- Rocha
  • Colonia- Colonia
  • San Jose- San Jose
  • Canelones- Canelones
  • Maldonado- Maldonado
  • Montevideo- Montevideo

  • Capital of Uruguay
    Situated at an altitude of 43 meters above sea level is the capital of Uruguay. Montevideo is marked with a red dot on the printable map of Uruguay. The geographical coordinates of the city are 34° 51' 29'' South latitude and 56° 10' 15''West longitude respectively. The nearby town and cities are Belveder, Penarol, Arroyo Seco, Cerrito, Reducto, Bella Vista, Union, Piedras Blancas, paso Molino and Villa Munoz. Carrasco International and the Angel S Adami are the two airports, which serve as gateways to the capital city of Uruguay.

    Artigas 78,01911,9284,605Artigas
    Canelones 485,2404,5361,751Canelones
    Cerro Largo 86,56413,6485,270Melo
    Colonia 119,2666,1062,358Colonia (del Sacramento)
    Durazno 58,85911,6434,495Durazno
    Flores 25,1045,1441,986Trinidad
    Florida 68,18110,4174,022Florida
    Lavalleja 60,92510,0163,867Minas
    Maldonado 140,1924,7931,851Maldonado
    Montevideo 1,325,968530205Montevideo
    Rio Negro 53,9899,2823,584Fray Bentos
    Rivera 104,9219,3703,618Rivera
    Rocha 69,93710,5514,074Rocha
    Salto 123,12014,1635,468Salto
    San Jose103,1044,9921,927San Jose (de Mayo)
    Soriano 84,5639,0003,475Mercedes
    Treinta y Tres49,3189,5293,679Treinta y Tres
    19 departments3,241,003175,00867,571
    Note : -Population: 2004 census

    Last Updated : February 23, 2015


    "By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."

    For further info please get in touch with us at