Facts about Jamaica

ContinentNorth America
Lat Long18 15 N, 77 30 W
Area10,991 km2 (4,244 sq mi)
Population2,950,210 (July 2015 est.)
Largest CityKingston
Official LanguagesEnglish
Major ReligionProtestant 64.8% (includes Seventh Day Adventist 12.0%, Pentecostal 11.0%, Other Church of God 9.2%, New Testament Church of God 7.2%, Baptist 6.7%, Church of God in Jamaica 4.8%, Church of God of Prophecy 4.5%, Anglican 2.8%, United Church 2.1%, Methodist 1.6%, Revived 1.4%, Brethren .9%, and Moravian .7%), Roman Catholic 2.2%, Jehovah's Witness 1.9%, Rastafarian 1.1%, other 6.5%, none 21.3%, unspecified 2.3% (2011 est.)
National Day6. August 1962
Form of GovernmentUnitary Parliamentary constitutional monarchy
PresidentQueen Elizabeth II ( Monarch)
Vice PresidentPatrick Allen ( Governor-General)
Prime MinisterAndrew Holness
CurrencyJamaican dollar (JMD)
GDP$25.317 billion (2012 estimate)
Calling Code+1-876
Time Zone(UTC-5)
Internet TLD.jm

What is the capital of Jamaica?
Kingston is the capital of Jamaica. Founded in July 1692, Kingston is the largest city of the island in terms of both size and population, covering an area of 480 square kilometers (190 square miles).
The estimated population of the capital is 937,700 (2011).

Where is Jamaica located?
Jamaica is an island in the Caribbean Sea to the southeast of the United States, nearest to neighboring Cuba and the island of Hispaniola. Jamaica has a total coastline of 1,022 kilometers (635 miles). The total area covered by the island is 10,911 square kilometers (4,212 square miles).

Who are the political leaders of Jamaica?
Monarch - Queen Elizabeth II
Governor-General - Patrick Allen
Prime Minister - Portia Simpson-Miller

What are the administrative divisions of Jamaica?
The Jamaican island is divided into fourteen parishes for administrative purposes. These parishes are part of one of three counties: Cornwall, Middlesex, or Surrey. The parishes of Jamaica are Clarendon, Kingston, Portland, Hanover, Saint Andrew, Saint Ann, Saint Catherine, Saint Elizabeth, Saint James, Saint Mary, Saint Thomas, Manchester, Westmoreland, and Trelawny.

What is the official language of Jamaica?
English is the official language of Jamaica. Creole is an English-African language spoken by a large number of Jamaicans and, is also known as Jamaican patois.

What currency is used in Jamaica?
The Jamaican dollar is the official currency of Jamaica and is abbreviated as "J$." The Jamaican dollar has been the national currency since 1969.

What is the main religion of Jamaica?
Christianity is the most practiced religion in Jamaica. The various denominations of Christianity practiced in Jamaica include Church of God of Prophecy, Seventh-day Adventist, Pentecostal, Baptist, and Roman Catholic. Rastafarianism is another religion widely practiced in Jamaica, influenced by African spirituality. The Rastas believe in the teachings of the Christian Bible, and that they are the lost tribes of Israel and must return to Ethiopia, which they consider heaven on Earth. They follow former Ethiopian emperor Haile Selassie as their religious leader. Baha'i, Buddhism, Hinduism and Jehovah's Witnesses are some of the other religions practiced in Jamaica.

What are the features of Jamaica's economy?
As a popular tourist destination, the service sector is an important part of Jamaica's economy, accounting for about half of the nation's GDP. Tourism is vital to the nation's economy, with most tourist activity centered on the northern coast of the island; Montego Bay, Port Royal, and Kingston are the major tourist destinations. About 1.3 million foreign tourists visit Jamaica every year.

Agriculture, mining, financial and insurance services, and manufacturing are other major sectors. Agricultural products include sugarcane, yams, coffee, citrus, rum, and bananas.

When did Jamaica gain independence?
Jamaica gained full independence from the rule of the United Kingdom on August 6, 1962, when it became a member of the British Commonwealth. Jamaican Independence Day is celebrated every year with lot of festivities, including a parade held at Kingston, where people dress up in traditional attire to represent their cultural heritage.

What was Jamaica formerly named?
Jamaica was known as 'Xaymaca' before Europeans landed on the island, a name meaning "Land of Wood and Water" or the "Land of Springs." The name was given by the indigenous inhabitants of the island.

What is the national bird of the Jamaica?
The doctor bird or swallow-tail humming bird is the national bird of Jamaica. It is found only on this island. The humming bird has been immortalized in Jamaican folklore and song throughout Jamaican history.


Last Updated on: July 16th, 2018