Geography of Indonesia

The main characteristic of the geography of Indonesia is that this country is an archipelago consisting of seventeen thousand islands. According to the Indonesia Geography country falls between the Indian Ocean and the Pacific Ocean. As the country of Indonesia falls in the ring of fire there are a number of active volcanoes in the country.

The archipelago of Indonesia is separated into three parts. The names of the three divisions are East Indonesia, Smaller Sunda Islands and Greater Sunda Islands. The total area of the country of Indonesia is 1904569 square kilometer of which 80% is water. The specialty of the geography of Indonesia is that the Great Circle passes through this country.

The islands of Indonesia were formed from volcanic eruptions. The volcanoes are at the same reason behind the atrocities of the country and its agricultural fertility. The Greater Sunda Islands section comprises of all the major islands of Indonesia like, Sumatra, Sulawesi, and Java. Bali, Lombok and Komodo are parts of the Smaller Sunda islands. The topography of the islands of Indonesia is mountainous. The formations under the sea are an important part of geography of Indonesia.

As Indonesia is located near the equator the climatic condition of this country is temperate in nature. There is high amount of humidity and rainfall is high especially during the monsoons. The volcanoes and sea also affects the climatic conditions of the country very significantly.

These days the protection and preservation of the environment and geography of Indonesia is the prime concern for the government.

Last Updated on: November 30th, 2017