Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Cyprus Map / Districts of Cyprus

Districts of Cyprus

The country of Cyprus is divided into six administrative districts or zones. While some of these like Paphos, Larnaka, Nicosia and Limassol are in the government controlled areas, the rest of them Keryneia and Famagusta are in the occupied area. An interesting
fact about all these districts of Cyprus is that they have capitals of the same name. The districts in Cyprus are presided over by a District Officer .The District Officer acts as the representative of the local people as well as a branch of the government. He acts as an essential cord of communication between the people and the administrators. The District Officer also coordinates the activities and functions of the ministries. They are responsible and answerable for their activities to the Ministry of the Interior. There is a Permanent secretary heading such a ministry and he acts as its administrator.

The Paphos district is under the recognized Government of Cyprus. It covers an area of around 1,393 square kilometers. Larnaca and Famagusta are presently under the rule of Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus. The main city of Nicosia is the capital of the Turkish occupied Northern Cyprus. A section of the Limassol is under British control. Kyrenia is the smallest Cyprian district

For more information log into

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."
For further info please get in touch with us at