Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Mauritius Map / Chagos Archipelago

Chagos Archipelago

Chagos Archipelago is one of the most beautiful group of islands in Mauritius. Chagos Archipelago consists of nearly 60 small islands which are spread over an area of about 50,000 square kilometers.
Chagos Archipelago is characterized by the large number of faultless coral reefs that surround it. Mauritius acquired administrative rights over this archipelago in 1903.

Location of Chagos Archipelago

Chagos Archipelago is situated in almost the center of the Indian Ocean. Chagos Archipelago lies 450 kilometers on the southern part of Addu and is 1,460 kilometers away from Sri Lanka.

Islands of Chagos Archipelago

The largest island of Chagos Archipelago is known as Diego Garcia. Diego Garcia alone covers an area of 28 square kilometers. Chagos Archipelago also consists of five atolls, which are known as Blenheim Reef, Egmont Reef, Diego Garcia, Salomon Islands and Peros Banhos. There are also a number of small islets in Chagos Archipelago such as Ile Aigle, Ile Pierre, Ile de Coin, Ile Sude-Est, Ile de Coin and Ile Boddam.

Climate of Chagos Archipelago

The sea winds make the weather of this island pleasant and comfortable. The south-easterly winds cause a moderate winter between the months of June and September. The Chagos Archipelago receives maximum rainfall between the months of December to January.

Fauna of Chagos Archipelago

These islands provide shelter to a large number of rare birds such as Red Footed Booby, Brown Noddy, Sooty Tern, and Lesser Noddy. Green and Hawksbill Tortoises can also be spotted in this island.

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."

For further info please get in touch with us at