Maps of World
Your Window to the World
Home > Cyprus > Travel > Airways of Cyprus

Airways of Cyprus

Cyprus Airways was set up on 24th September in 1947. The national airline of Cyprus is Cyprus Airways. The head quarter of Cyprus Airways is situated in Nicosia. Kikis N. Lazarides is the CEO of Cyprus Airways. The parent company of Cyprus Airways is Cyprus Airways Public Ltd. The main hub of Cyprus Airways is at Larnaca International Airport.
Cyprus Airways started functioning with Douglas DC-3 aircrafts and at first operated only in the territorial routes. It made a charter agreement with BEA Vickers Viscount. BEA Vickers Viscount airliners were used by Cyprus Airways from 18th April 1953. On 26th January 1958 BEA Vickers Viscount made a special agreement with Cyprus Airways and bought the functioning of this airline. On 8th February, 1985 Cyprus Airways resumed functioning from Larnaca.

Many destinations are covered by Cyprus Airways. Some of the destinations covered by Cyprus Airways are as follows:
  • Frankfurt
  • Amsterdam
  • London
  • Paris
  • Manchester
  • Dubai
  • Moscow
  • Rhodes
  • Birmingham
  • Cairo
  • Rome
  • Vienna

Cyprus has stopped operating in the following destinations:
  • Colombo
  • Lydda
  • Budapest
  • Alexandria
  • Colombo
  • Ankara
  • Geneva
  • Baghdad

The fleet of Cyprus Airways comprises of aircrafts like Airbus A320-200, Boeing 737-800, Airbus A319-100 And Airbus A330-200.

Cyprus Airways provides highly satisfactory services to the passengers.