Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Nepal Map / Cities / Bagmati Map

Bagmati Map

Bagmati zone is in Nepal and it has derived its name from the river Bagmati. Bagmati in Nepal is in the Central Development Region. There are 1.5 million people in the Bagmati region of Nepal.
The Kathmandu valley is in the Bagmati region. The eight districts of Bagmati include Bhaktapur district, Dhading district, Kathmandu district, Lalitpur district, Rasuwa district, Nuwakot district, Kavrepalanchok district and the Sindhulpalchok district.

The headquarters of Bhaktapur district is Bhaktapur, Dhading district is Dhading, Kathmandu district is Kathmandu, Rasuwa district is Dhunche, Muwakot district is Bidur, Kavrepalanchok district is Dhulikhel and that of Sindhupalchok district is Chautara.

The river Bhagmati, from which the region of Bhagmati receives its name, is a very sacred river in Nepal. The river separates Kathmandu from Lalitpur. Most of the Hindus in Nepal are cremated along the banks of this holy river. In fact, there goes a fable that before cremation, the dead body must be dipped in the river Bhagmati of Nepal at least three times. The nearby hills provide the grounds for the burial of the dead Kirants. Immediately after the ceremony of cremation is over, the person who lights the funeral pyre, usually the first son takes a dip in Bhagmati. At the end of cremation, the relatives also take bath in the holy river of Bhagmati at Nepal.

  List of Cities  

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."

For further info please get in touch with us at