Facts about Morocco

Official Name Morocco
Lat Long32.0000° N, 6.0000° W
Area446,550 sq km
Largest CityCasablanca
Official LanguagesArabic, Tamazight
Major ReligionAccording to CIA World factbook: Muslims: 99% (official; virtually all Sunni, <.1% Shia) others 1% (includes Christianity, Jewish, and Baha'i), Jewish about 6,000 (2010 est.)
Form of GovernmentUnitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy
Vice PresidentNA
Prime MinisterSaadeddine Othmani
CurrencyMoroccan dirham (MAD)
GDP$181.9 billion 2013 estimate
Calling Code212
Time ZoneWET (UTC+0)
Internet TLD.ma

What is the full name of Morocco?
Kingdom of Morocco (Al Mamlakah al Maghribiyah)

Where is Morocco?
Northern Africa, across the Gibraltar Strait from Spain

What countries border Morocco?
Algeria, Mauritania, Spain (across the Gibraltar Strait), and Western Sahara (which Morocco claims as a territory). The border between Algeria and Morocco is currently closed.

How big is Morocco?
446,550 square kilometers

What is the population of Morocco?
33.01 million (2013)

What language is spoken in Morocco?
Arabic is the official language (the Darija, Moroccan dialect). French is used for business and is considered the unofficial second language of Morocco, Berber dialects, Spanish and English are becoming increasingly more common.

What type of government does Morocco have?
Constitutional monarchy

Who is the King of Morocco?
King Mohammed VI

Who is the Prime Minister of Morocco?
Abdelilah Benkirane

What is the capital of Morocco?

What are the regions of Morocco?
There are 15 regions of Morocco, and claimed territory in Western Sahara

  • Grand Casablanca
  • Chaouia-Ouardigha
  • Doukkala-Abda
  • Fes-Boulemane
  • Gharb-Chrarda-Beni Hssen
  • Guelmim-Es Smara
  • Laayoune-Boujdour-Sakia El Hamra
  • Marrakech-Tensift-Al Haouz
  • Meknes-Tafilalet
  • Oriental
  • Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer
  • Souss-Massa-Draa
  • Tadla-Azilal
  • Tanger-Tetouan
  • Taza-Al Hoceima-Taounate

What are the largest cities in Morocco?
  1. Casablanca
  2. Rabat
  3. Fes
  4. Marrakech
  5. Oujda

When did Morocco declare independence?
March 2, 1956 – Morocco declared independence from France

When is Morocco’s national holiday?
Morocco celebrates Throne Day on July 30, which celebrates the accession of King Mohammed VI to the throne in 1999.

What currency is used in Morocco?
Moroccan dirham (MAD)

What are the physical features of Morocco?
Although Morocco is often thought of as desert, much of the country is covered by the Atlas Mountains and the Rif Mountains, though the Sahara desert does make up a portion of the country.

What is the Arab Maghreb Union (AMU)?
Established in 1989, the Maghreb Union was meant to unify Morocco (with Western Sahara) Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, and Mauritania and help with trade and political unity between the countries. The Maghreb Union is currently frozen because of disagreements between Morocco and Algeria.

Who are the Berbers?
The Berbers are the indigenous peoples of the northern Africa. Most Moroccans are of Arab-Berber descent.

What is the major religion in Morocco?
Islam is the majority religion, particularly Sunni Islam. Judaism was historically a major religion in Morocco, but most Jews emigrated elsewhere in the 1950s.

Last Updated on: July 12th, 2018