Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Papua New Guinea Map / Political Map of Papua New Guinea

Political Map of Papua New Guinea

Papua New Guinea Political Map shows the important locations, cities and islands of Papua New Guinea. Port Moresby is the national capital and can be accessed from the airport of Port Moresby Jacksons International.

Political Map of Papua New Guinea Port Moresby Map Indonesia Map Australia Map Solomon Islands Map Solomon Islands Map Solomon Islands Map Solomon Islands Map Solomon Islands Map Solomon Islands Map Solomon Islands Map Solomon Islands Map
Description: Papua New Guinea Political map showing the international boundary, provinces, autonomous region, and district boundaries with their capitals and national capital. Disclaimer

A section of the eastern half of New Guinea Island is also a part of Papua New Guinea.

Position of Papua New Guinea

Papua New Guinea Political Map shows that it is a group of islands that is located between the South Pacific Ocean and the Coral Sea. It also consists of a part of the eastern half of New Guinea Island. Papua is located on the latitude of 6° South and longitude of 147° East. The total area covered by this group of islands is 462,840 sq km. the coastline measures 5,152 km.

Location of Papua New Guinea

Some of the important locations of Papua New Guinea as shown on the Papua Map are:

  • Sandaun
  • East Sepik
  • Madang
  • West Highlands
  • Southern Highlands
  • Gulf
  • Morobe
  • Manus
  • New Ireland
  • North Solomon
  • East New Britain
  • Solomon Islands

  • Capital city of Papua New Guinea

    Port Moresby located on the geographical coordinates of 9° 30' South and 147° 10' East latitude and longitude, is the capital of Papua New Guinea. It is highlighted on the Papua New Guinea Political Map by a red square box. Port Moresby Jacksons International Airport is located here

    The Bismarck Sea and the Solomon Sea separating the island of West New Britain is clearly shown on the Political Map of Papua New Guinea.

    Papua New Guinea Cities

    The cities are symbolized by black dots on the Printable Map of Papua New Guinea. Some of the major cities of Papua New Guinea are:

  • Angoram
  • Weam
  • Kupiano
  • Abau
  • Morobe
  • Awar
  • Jayapura
  • Merauke
  • Wau

  • Papua New Guinea Islands

    The islands of Papua New Guinea are given below:

  • Tabar Islands
  • Lihir Island
  • Feni Islands
  • Buka Island
  • Choiseul Island
  • New Georgia Island
  • Woodlrk Island
  • Trobriand Islands
  • Normanby Island
  • Misima Island
  • Taula Island
  • D'Entrecasteaux Islands

  • ProvincesPopulationArea(km.²)Area(mi.²)Capital
    Central183,98329,50011,390Port Moresby
    Eastern Highlands432,97211,2004,320Goroka
    East New Britain220,13315,5005,980Kokopo
    East Sepik343,18142,80016,530Wewak
    Hela   Tari?
    Jiwaka   Minj?
    Milne Bay210,41214,0005,410Alotau
    National Capital District254,15824090Port Moresby
    New Ireland118,3509,6003,710Kavieng
    Southern Highlands546,26523,8009,190Mendi
    Western Highlands440,0258,5003,280Mount Hagen
    West New Britain184,50821,0008,110Kimbe
    22 divisions5,190,786462,840178,710
    Note  : -Population: 2000-07-09 census (source [1]).

    Last Updated On : October 25, 2012

    FAQs and Answers on History and Geography

    Buy Maps Online

    EU GDPR Update
    MapsofWorld has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofWorld Privacy Policy and Terms.
    For further info please get in touch with
    Bill Spicer Executive VP, MapXL
    For US Queries
      (408) 637-0064