Provinces of Kuwait
Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Kuwait Map / Kuwait Provinces

Provinces of Kuwait

Kuwait Provinces are locally known as Kuwait Governorates. There are principally six provinces. Bubiyan and Warbah the uninhabited island lying in the north-east are also a part of the country of Kuwait.

Provinces in Kuwait : 
The six provinces of the country are as follows : 

  • Al-Asimah or Al-Kuwait : 
    Al-Asimah or Al-Kuwait covers an area of 200 sq. km. and is inhabited by approximately 262,000 people. Al-Kuwait has three ports: Ash Shuwaykh, Mina Al Ahmadi, and Kuwait City. Kuwait City handles all international flights to and from Kuwait.

  • Al-Ahmadi : 
    Al-Ahmadi spread over 5,120 sq. km. has a population of almost 400,000. The capital of this province is Al-Ahmadi. Al-Ahmadi has the maximum number of oil refineries. Locally it is called home of Kuwait Oil Company. Abu Halifa, Mangaf, and Riqqa are the important residential areas of the province.

  • Al-Farwaniyah : 
    Kuwait Province of Al-Farwaniyah lies to the south of Al-Kuwait. It has an area of 190 sq. km., and a population of approximately 623,000. The city of Al-Farwaniyah having a population of about 84,000 people is the capital of this Province. This province of Kuwait is a mountaineer's paradise. Mountaineering, skiing and mountain biking are the notable tourist activities in this province.

  • Al-Jahrah : 
    Al-Jahrah is the largest province of Kuwait with an area of 11,230 sq. km. The province of Al-Jahrah forms the northern, western and south-western regions of Kuwait. Al-Jahrah, a port city is the capital of this governorate. The province has a population of almost 273, 000, out of which only about 28,000 people stay in the province capital Al-Jahrah.

  • Hawalli : 
    The Kuwait Province of Hawalli is perhaps the mostly densely populated with about 490,000 people spread over an area of only 80 sq. km. Hawalli is surrounded by Al-Asimah (Al-Kuwait) on all sides.

  • Mubarak al-Kabir : 
    The province of Mubarak al-Kabir lies to the south-east of Al-Kuwait. Till 1999 it was a part of Hawalli. Mubarak al-Kabir named after Sheikh Mubarak Al-Sabah, is the sixth and latest province of Kuwait. Covering an area of 100 sq. km. it has approximately 177,000 inhabitants.

Provinces in Kuwait

Last Updated Date: September 27, 2016

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."
For further info please get in touch with us at