Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Madagascar Map / Geographical Regions of Madagascar

Geographical Regions of Madagascar

Regions in Madagascar allude to the four divisions into which this island nation in the Indian Ocean is divided. Madagascar is divided into four distinct parts depending on the land and people of the nation. The physiography of Madagascar forms the basis of this division of the land into four parts. The different ethnic groups settled in the regions in Madagascar also contribute as deciding factors of this categorization.

The topography of the island largely determines the division of Madagascar regions. The East Coast and West Coast of the island of Madagascar constitute most of the plain land of the nation. The Central Highlands are comparatively higher than the coastal regions. The Southwest is another distinct region of Madagascar.

The variation in topography also causes differences in the natural and climatic condition of the regions at Madagascar. The native ethnic groups living in the different regions of Madagascar are quite varied from one another. Each ethnic group has a rich history and culture of their own. The indigenous cultures of the natives are concentrated in each of the four Madagascar regions.

Last Updated : December 09, 2013

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."

For further info please get in touch with us at