Downstate New York Map

Downstate New York

Downstate New York comprises southeastern portion of the Empire state. The region includes New York metropolitan area, boroughs of New York City, Long Island, and counties of Westchester, Putnam, and Rockland.

There is no definitive or official boundary to separate Upstate and Downstate New York. The region is far more urban in character than Upstate New York. Major tourist attractions in Downstate New York include Times Square, Statue of Liberty, Long Beach, Oyster Bay, Greenport, and the Hamptons.

Last Updated on: May 20, 2017