Capital District in New York

Capital District in New York

The Capital District or Capital Region refers to the metropolitan area surrounding Albany, the state capital of New York. The Capital District is the third largest metropolitan area in the state. It is located in the eastern New York. The city of Albany has been the capital of New York state since 1797. Encompassing several historical hamlets, Colonie is the most populated suburb of Albany.

The region was first settled by the Dutch in the early 17th century before British took control in 1664. In the 21st century, the Capital District has emerged as an epicenter of Tech Valley in New York.

The Capital District area comprises 11 counties which are:

  • Albany County
  • Columbia County
  • Greene County
  • Fulton County
  • Montgomery County
  • Rensselaer County
  • Saratoga County
  • Schenectady County
  • Schoharie County
  • Warren County
  • Washington County

Parks and Recreation

The river valleys of Hudson and Mohawk provide ample opportunities for nature lovers. The Adirondack Park and Catskill Park offer endless year-round recreational dwellings to visitors. Hiking, swimming, kayaking, wine tasting, and winter sports are popular among outdoor lovers. Here are some of major state parks in the Capital District:

  • Cherry Plain State Park
  • Saratoga Spa State Park
  • Grafton Lakes State Park
  • Mine Kill State Park
  • Schodack Island State Park
  • Hudson River Islands State Park
  • Moreau Lake State Park
  • John Boyd Thacher State Park
  • Peebles Island State Park

The Central Park in Schenectady and Washington Park in Albany are other popular green spaces in Albany Metropolitan area. The largest Flag Day parade in America is held annually in Troy. The Tulip Fest during spring in Albany is among the largest events in the Capital district. The National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame is located in Saratoga Springs.

Last Updated on: May 20, 2017