Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Bermuda Map / Bermuda Government

Bermuda Government

Bermuda Government is an internally self governed British Overseas Territory . The Queen of England is the official head of the state and appoints a governor to represent her in the Bermuda . The governor is responsible for external affairs, internal security, police and defense in the Bermuda Government. Since April 2002 Sir John Vereker has held the office of the Governor of Bermuda.

Just like in the United Kingdom, Bermuda Government has a bi- cameral legislative; the Bermudian House of Assembly and the Senate. The House of Assembly, of 36 seats , is elected every five years by a general election of universal franchise. The political party which has the most seats in the bi-party political scenario forms the government , by the formal order of the Governor to form cabinet. The leader of the party becomes the Premier . The opposition party has its own shadow cabinet and leader.

Among the eleven member Senate , three members are appointed by the Governor, three are appointed by the Opposition Party and rest of the five members are appointed by the Governor on the advise of the Premier . All legislation must first be passed by the Assembly, and then approved in two steps, first by the Senate, and then by the Governor.

The Bermuda Government is ruled by a two party system , the United Bermuda Party (UBP) and the Progressive Labour Party (PLP). The latest elections held in July 2003 was won by PLP and the present Premier is Dr Ewart Brown .

Bermuda government has been successful in maintaining stability, peace and prosperity in the country and is a model for self governance in overseas colonies.

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."

For further info please get in touch with us at