Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Olympics / History / Barcelona 1992 Olympics

Barcelona 1992 Olympics

The City of Barcelona: Barcelona is the capital city of Catalonia in Spain. Barcelona is the second largest city in Spain. The city is located along the Mediterranean coast, between the mouths of Llobregat River and Besos River. The major landmarks in Barcelona, Spain are Expiatory Temple of the Holy Family, Picasso Museum, La Rambla, Guell Park, Casa Mila, Gothic Quarter, National Museum of Catalonian Art, Joan Miro Foundation, Catedral de la Seu, Block of Discord, Santa Maria del Mar, Museum of Contemporary Arts and The Waterfront.

The Twenty-fifth Modern Olympics: The 1992 Summer Olympics were officially known as the Games of the XXV Olympiad. The Summer Games were held in Barcelona, the capital city of Catalonia in Spain in the year 1992.

Venue: The twenty-fifth Summer Games were held in the Estadi Olimpic Lluis Companys in Barcelona, the capital city of Catalonia in Spain in the year 1992. Estadi Olimpic Lluis Companys is located on Monjuic, a large hill to the southwest of Barcelona. The stadium was rebuilt in 1989 to be used as the main stadium in the 1992 Olympics.

Participants: 9956 competitors from 169 countries took part in the twenty-fifth Summer Games, in the year 1992. The participating countries were Albania, Andorra, Antigua, Angola, Algeria, Argentina, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bermuda, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, British Virgin Islands, Bulgaria, Burkona Faso, Cameroon, Canada, Cayman Islands, Central Africa, Chad, Chile, China Republic, Chinese Taipei, Colombia, Congo People Republic, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, The Gambia, Germany, Ghana, Great Britain, Greece, Grenada, Guam, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Israel, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Japan, Jordon, Kenya, Korea people Republic, Korea Democratic People Republic, Kuwait, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Libya, Lichtenstein, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Malta, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Rhodesia, Romania, Rwanda, St. Vincent & Gr., American Samoa, Western Samoa, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Senegal, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, eSwatini (Swaziland), Singapore, Spain, Sudan, Surinam, Syria, Sweden, Switzerland, Tonga, Thailand, Togo, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Unified Team, United Arab Emirates, U.S.S.R., U.S.A., US Virgin Islands, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Yugoslavia, Zaire, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Events: There were 286 events in 32 sports in the twenty-fifth Summer Games in 1992. Medals were awarded for archery, athletics, baseball, basketball, badminton, boxing, canoeing, cycling, diving, equestrian, fencing, football, gymnastics, handball, hockey, judo, modern pentathlon, rowing, shooting, swimming, synchronized swimming, table tennis, tennis, volleyball, water polo, weightlifting, wrestling and yachting.

Medal Count: Unified Team won 112 medals in total ( 45 gold, 38 silver and 29 bronze medals) in the twenty-fifth Summer Games. United States won 108 medals in total with 37 gold, 34 silver and 37 bronze medals. Spain, the host country won 22 medals in total with 13 gold medals.

A Brief Description of the Twenty-fifth Olympiad: The Twenty-fifth Summer Games were held from 25 th July to 19 th August in the year 1992 in Barcelona, the capital city of Catalonia in Spain. The Games were officially opened by Juan Carlos I of Spain. The athletes uttered Olympic oath led by Luis Doreste Blanco. Judges took Olympic oath led by Eugeni Asensio. In the stadium, the Olympic Flame was lit by Antonio Rebollo.

  Olympic Results  

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."

For further info please get in touch with us at