Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Olympics / History / Amsterdam 1928 Olympics

Amsterdam 1928 Olympics

The City of Amsterdam: Amsterdam is the official capital of the Netherlands . Amsterdam lies on the banks of two bodies of water, the IJ bay and the Amstel River. One of the largest historic city centers in Europe is situated in Amsterdam . Some of Amsterdam' s frequently visited places are the National Maritime Museum, Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum, Museum Amstelkring and Anne Frank House.

The Ninth Modern Olympics: The 1928 Summer Olympics were officially known as the Games of the IX Olympiad . The Games were held in 1928 in Amsterdam, the capital of the Netherlands.

Venue: The Ninth Summer Games were held in the Olympisch Stadion in Amsterdam, Netherlands . The stadium was designed by Jan Wils. This stadium was built for the 1928 Olympics.

Participants: 3014 participants from 46 countries took part in the ninth Olympiad in Amsterdam. The participating countries were Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Cuba, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Haiti, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Rhodesia, Romania, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United States, Uruguay and Yugoslavia.

Events: There were 109 events in 14 sports in the 1928 Summer Games. The events included athletics, boxing, cycling, diving, equestrian, fencing, football, gymnastics, hockey, modern pentathlon, rowing, sailing, shooting, swimming, water polo, weightlifting and wrestling.

Medal Count: United States won 56 medals in total with 22 gold medals. Netherlands won 6 gold medals and 19 in total.

A Brief Description of Amsterdam Summer Games, 1928: The Ninth Summer Games were held in Amsterdam, the official capital of Netherlands from 17 th May to 12 th August . The games were officially opened by Prince Hendrik . The Athletes uttered the Olympic oath led by Harry Denis . The Olympic Flame was lit for the first time during this Olympiad. For the first time, the parade of the nations started with Greece and ended with the host country.