Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Sports Events / Olympics / Athletic Events / 400 meter Sprint for Women at Olympics

400 meter Sprint for Women at Olympics

400 meter Sprint for Women at Olympics: The 400 meter event is the longest among the sprint events. The length of the inside lane of a standard outdoor track is the same with the length of the race. The athletes competing in the event have to have super flexibility and good command over running technique.

400 meter Sprint for Women in Summer Olympics: The 400 meter sprint event was introduced to the women's athletics program at the 1964 Tokyo Summer Games. Since then, the event has become a regular part of the Olympic athletics schedule.

Rules for 400 meter Sprint for Women at Olympics: The rules followed during the 400 meter sprint event are set by the International Association of Athletics Federations or IAAF. Some of the rules are-

  • The IAAF has specified the length of the track. The width of each lane is also determined by the organization.
  • The IAAF has fixed the radius of the outside lane of the track at a maximum of 50 meter.
  • When the number of competitors is more than the capacity of a single race, preliminary heats are arranged. Every participant has to compete in the heats. The athletes have to qualify in the heat round to compete in the next round.
  • A sprinter is given a warning after the first false start she takes. If there is one more false start, the athlete has to leave the competition.
  • Running inside the inner curve of the track, or stepping on the inner line of the track is prohibited during the race.
  • An athlete once outside the track during the race is considered to be out of the competition. She cannot join the race again.
  • The running records made on the track made of the substance enduring the running spikes are only considered to be legal.
  • The athlete, who fails to reach the finishing line, is not given any credit, even if she runs with a greater speed than the winner.
  • The time of the event is measured using a standard automatic timing device.

    Medal Winners in the 400 meter Sprint for Women at Olympics:

    PEREC Marie-Jose    
    Marie-Jose PERECFRA200
    Christine OHURUOGUGBR110
    Cathy FREEMANAUS110

    Betty Cuthbert, Colette Besson, Monika Zehrt, Irena Szewinska, Marita Koch, Valerie Brisco-Hooks, Olga Bryzgina, Marie-Jose Perec, Cathy Freeman, Tonique Williams-Darling, Ann Packer, Lillian Board, Rita Wilden, Christina Brehmer, Jarmila Kratochvilova, Chandra Cheeseborough, Petra Schersing, Lorraine Fenton, Ana Guevara and Sanya Richards are some of the leading athletes in the domain of the 400 meter sprint event.

    Track events
    Field events
    Road events
    Combined events

    Obsolete Track and Field athletic events

    Team USA defeated team Serbia to win its third straight basketball gold medal in Men’s Basketball tournament. The winning team’s coach Mike Krzyzewski was utmost delighted with his team’s victory on the final day of Rio 2016 Olympic Games. USA won by a 19-15 lead and this is their 25th straight victory at the Olympic Games in addition to the 15th straight victory in the basketball tournament. 

    Mo Farah of Great Britain has bagged the gold by winning the 5000 meters final and completed the double double. According to media reports, with this victory Farah has become the second man in the history of Olympics to be able to successfully defend his 5000 and 10000 Olympic championships. His victory is being hailed on Twitter with some calling him the greatest long distance runner of all time. Meanwhile, the silver medal has gone to Paul Kipkemoi Chelimo and Dejen Gebremeskel of Ethiopia has bagged the bronze.

    In the women's event, Caster Semenya of South Africa won the Olympic gold in the 800m. She won in one minute 55.28 seconds.  Francine Niyonsaba of Burundi won the silver medal and Kenya's Margaret Nyairera Wambui bagged the bronze.

    Chen Long of China has taken gold medal in the Rio Olympics 2016 after defeating Lee Chong Wei of Malaysia, who has won a silver in men’s badminton today. Lee was facing pressure not to lose the match. He beat Lin Dan of China in the semi-final. Lee and Lin, both are considered to be the best players of their time. With Lee’s defeat, Malaysia has missed out the chance of getting an Olympic gold medal.


    Italy came up with a win and is heading to men's volleyball final against Brazil, after defeating USA. The US men's volleyball team tried all their survival skills, but could not stand in front of Italy. The winning team's thriller was 30-28, 26-28, 9-25, 25-22, 15-9. After it was over, US coach John Speraw said that the team was not skilled enough and they did not execute on some of the opportunities, which Italy flawlessly did

    French boxer Estelle Mossely celebrated her 24th birthday by winning a gold medal in Women’s lightweight boxing championship. She defeated China’s Yin Junhua after the end of four rounds that had the two defending champions leveled on the scorecards of three judges. The bronze medals were earned by Mira Potkonen of Finland and Anastasia Beliakova of Russia.

  • FAQs and Answers on History and Geography

    For further info please get in touch with
    Bill Spicer Executive VP, MapXL
    For US Queries
      (408) 637-0064   bill@mapxl.com