Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Sports Events / Olympics / Athletic Events / 200 meter Sprint for Women at Olympics

200 meter Sprint for Women at Olympics

200 meter Sprint for Women at Olympics: The 200 meter sprint event has some similarity with "stadion", the event contested at the ancient Summer Games. The 200 meter event is contested at both outdoor and indoor competitions. The great speed is not the only thing required to excel in the event. The athletes competing in the event have to be extremely well conditioned.

200 meter Sprint for Women in Summer Olympics: The 200 meter sprint event for women was held for the first time at the 1948 London Summer Games. Since the 1948 Games, the event has been held regularly at every Olympics.

Rules for 200 meter Sprint for Women at Olympics: The rules set by the International Association of Athletics Federations or IAAF are followed during the 200 meter sprint event in the international competitions. Some of the rules are-

  • The track used during the 200 meter sprint event has to be made of such a substance, which allows runners to run with spiked shoes.
  • The IAAF has specified the length of the track and the width of each lane on the track.
  • The maximum radius of the outside lane of the track has to be 50 meter
  • Athletes are not allowed to run inside the inner curve of the track. Stepping on the inner line of the track is also prohibited.
  • The automatic timing device used to record time during the race has to be certified by the IAAF.
  • The athlete, who is unable to complete the race, is not liable for any credit for her achievement.
  • The winners or the top sprinters of the preliminary heat round can compete in the next round.
  • Any athlete with two consecutive false starts will be disqualified from the competition.

    Medal Winners in the 200 meter Sprint for Women at Olympics

    Allyson FELIXUSA120
    Renate STECHERGDR101

    Juliet Cuthbert, Silke Gladisch-Moller, Marlies Gohr, Gwen Torrence, Grace Jackson, Heike Drechsler, Marita Koch, Merlene Ottey, Marion Jones, Florence Griffith-Joyner, Marie-Jose Perec, Irena Szewinska and Edith McGuire are the athletes, who excelled in the domain of the 200 meter sprint event for women.

    Trivia: Irena Szewinska won gold medal in the 200 meter sprint event at the 1968 Mexico City Summer Games. For her achievements, she was called the "Queen of the Track" by her countrymen.
    Track events
    Field events
    Road events
    Combined events

    Obsolete Track and Field athletic events


    "By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."

    For further info please get in touch with us at