Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Sports Events / Olympics / Athletic Events / Two Handed Javelin Throw at Olympics

Two Handed Javelin Throw at Olympics

Two handed javelin throw at Olympics is an athletic event that was introduced in the Summer Olympics of 1912 in Stockholm (Sweden). This track and field championship was, in fact, introduced along with two handed shot put and two handed discus throw. It was the only time this event was held at the Olympics.

Two handed javelin throw required the throwing of javelin 3 times by each hand. The total of the best throw by each hand decided the winner. Like the finalists of two handed shot put, two handed javelin throw finalists also received 3 turns each (by each hand) in the deciding round.

The participants of two handed javelin throw at Olympics were:

  • Vaino Siikaniemi
  • Urho Peltonen
  • Juho Saaristo
  • Mor Koczan
  • Sten Hagander
  • Karl Sonne
  • Arvid Ohrling
  • Anders Krigsman
  • Arne Halse
  • Daniel Johansen
  • Eric Lemming
  • Otto Nilsson
  • Johan Halme
  • Richared Abrink

    Juho Saaristo won the gold medal at 1912 Summer Olympics. The best mark made by him was 109.42m. Vaino Siikaniemi stood second and won the silver medal. The third position was taken over by Urho Peltonen, who won a bronze medal. All the winners of the two handed javelin throw were from Finland.

    Track events
    Field events
    Road events
    Combined events

    Obsolete Track and Field athletic events

    Team USA defeated team Serbia to win its third straight basketball gold medal in Men’s Basketball tournament. The winning team’s coach Mike Krzyzewski was utmost delighted with his team’s victory on the final day of Rio 2016 Olympic Games. USA won by a 19-15 lead and this is their 25th straight victory at the Olympic Games in addition to the 15th straight victory in the basketball tournament. 

    Mo Farah of Great Britain has bagged the gold by winning the 5000 meters final and completed the double double. According to media reports, with this victory Farah has become the second man in the history of Olympics to be able to successfully defend his 5000 and 10000 Olympic championships. His victory is being hailed on Twitter with some calling him the greatest long distance runner of all time. Meanwhile, the silver medal has gone to Paul Kipkemoi Chelimo and Dejen Gebremeskel of Ethiopia has bagged the bronze.

    In the women's event, Caster Semenya of South Africa won the Olympic gold in the 800m. She won in one minute 55.28 seconds.  Francine Niyonsaba of Burundi won the silver medal and Kenya's Margaret Nyairera Wambui bagged the bronze.

    Chen Long of China has taken gold medal in the Rio Olympics 2016 after defeating Lee Chong Wei of Malaysia, who has won a silver in men’s badminton today. Lee was facing pressure not to lose the match. He beat Lin Dan of China in the semi-final. Lee and Lin, both are considered to be the best players of their time. With Lee’s defeat, Malaysia has missed out the chance of getting an Olympic gold medal.


    Italy came up with a win and is heading to men's volleyball final against Brazil, after defeating USA. The US men's volleyball team tried all their survival skills, but could not stand in front of Italy. The winning team's thriller was 30-28, 26-28, 9-25, 25-22, 15-9. After it was over, US coach John Speraw said that the team was not skilled enough and they did not execute on some of the opportunities, which Italy flawlessly did

    French boxer Estelle Mossely celebrated her 24th birthday by winning a gold medal in Women’s lightweight boxing championship. She defeated China’s Yin Junhua after the end of four rounds that had the two defending champions leveled on the scorecards of three judges. The bronze medals were earned by Mira Potkonen of Finland and Anastasia Beliakova of Russia.

  • FAQs and Answers on History and Geography

    For further info please get in touch with
    Bill Spicer Executive VP, MapXL
    For US Queries
      (408) 637-0064   bill@mapxl.com