Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Paraguay / Paraguay Facts

Paraguay Facts

ContinentSouth America
Lat Long23 00 S, 58 00 W
Area406,752 km2 (157,048 sq mi)
Population6,783,272 (July 2015 est.)
Largest CityAsuncion
Official LanguagesSpanish
Major ReligionRoman Catholic 89.6%, Protestant 6.2%, other Christian 1.1%, other or unspecified 1.9%, none 1.1% (2002 census)
National Day14 May 1811 (from Spain)
Form of GovernmentUnitary presidential constitutional republic
PresidentHoracio Cartes
Vice PresidentJuan Afara
CurrencyGuarani (PYG)
GDP$61.167 billion (2015 estimate)
Calling Code595
Time ZonePYT (UTC-4) Summer (DST) PYST (UTC3)
Internet TLD.pv

What is the capital of Paraguay?
Asuncion is the capital of Paraguay and is one of the oldest cities in South America. It is the industrial and cultural center of the country, and has an estimated population of 680,250.

Where is Paraguay?
Paraguay is a landlocked country located in the center of the southern half of the continent.

Which countries border Paraguay?
Paraguay borders Bolivia and Brazil on the north, Brazil to the east, Argentina to the south, and Bolivia and Argentina to the west. It has a total land area of 157,048 square miles. It is referred to as the “Heart of America”, owing to its central location in the continent.

Who are the political leaders of Paraguay?
President – Fernando Lugo
Vice President - Federico Franco

What are the administrative divisions of Paraguay?
The country is divided into seventeen departments (which are further divided into districts) and one capital district.

What currency is used in Paraguay?
Guarani, denoted by the code PYG, is the official currency of the south American country, Paraguay. The sign of the currency is U+20B2.

What is the official language of Paraguay?
Guarani and Spanish are the official languages of the country, and are also the most commonly used. Guarani is the indigenous language of South America and spoken in many neighboring countries like Argentina and southwest Brazil. Japanese, German, Korean, and Ukrainian are spoken by the many immigrants in the continent.

What is the official religion of Paraguay?
Roman Catholicism is the predominant religion of Paraguay; almost 89.6 percent of the population follows the religion. The other denominations of Christianity, such as Protestantism and Judaism, are also practiced. There are also adherents of the Baha’i faith and Islam.

What is the economy of Paraguay like?
Agriculture is a very important sector in the country’s economy; It contributes sixteen percent to the GDP. Cotton, sugarcane, soybeans, corn, wheat, tobacco, cassava (tapioca), fruits, vegetables, beef, pork, eggs, and milk are the major agricultural products. Sugar, cement, textiles, beverages, wood products, steel, metallurgic, electric power are the major industries of Paraguay. China, Brazil, Argentina, United States of America and Japan are the major trade partners. The country imports machinery and electrical equipments, motor vehicles and fuels, lubricants, mineral fuels, plastics, fertilizers, rubber articles, paper, toys and beverages. The country also has a small mining industry; limestone, gypsum, marble, salt, copper, bauxite, uranium, peat and iron are some of the major minerals found in Paraguay.

When did Paraguay gain independence?
Paraguay got independence from Spain on May 14, 1811. This day is celebrated with a lot of festivities every year.

When was the flag of Paraguay adopted?
The flag of Paraguay was adopted on November 27, 1842. The flag comprises three horizontal stripes: red, white and blue. The country’s state coat of arms is presented in the front part of the flag and the back has the country’s Treasury Seal. The Seal is surmounted by the national motto of the country: 'Paz y Justica', which means 'Peace and Justice'. It is one of the oldest flags in the world.

Last Updated on: July 12, 2017