Member Associations of the International Hockey Federation

Next Story

Nations and territories where Spanish is the official or national language

World Map Showing International Hockey Federation Member Countries
The World Map Depicts the Member Associations of the International Hockey Federation


If you have a theme, we have a map. Contact us for your custom mapping requirements
+1 408 637 0064

Hockey is one of the most popular sports and has billions of fans across the globe. The game, which is played between two teams trying to maneuver a ball towards the goal of their opponents with a stick, finds reference in many ancient cultures. The ancient Romans, Greeks, Persians, and Arabs had their versions of the game. Today, it is a major sport played by a large number of nations. The sport has a number of variants such as Field Hockey, Ice Hockey, Roller Hockey, Street Hockey to name a few and a number of tournaments are held every year.

The International Hockey Federation, which is the international governing body for field hockey as well as indoor field hockey and known by its acronym FIH, organizes a number of international tournaments. The most significant among these is the World Cup. Founded in 1924, the Organization’s headquarters are based in the Swiss city of Lausanne. The current president of the organization is Narinder Batra. The International Hockey Federation comprises 128 countries within five confederations. These five confederations are the African Hockey Federation, Asian Hockey Federation., European Hockey Federation, Oceania Hockey Federation, and Pan American Hockey Federation.

The African Hockey Federation comprises 24 member associations. Some nations that are included in the African Hockey Federation are Egypt, Ghana, Libya, Kenya, Burundi, Swaziland, Nigeria, South Africa, to name a few.

The governing body for field hockey in Asia, the Asian Hockey Federation comprises 31 member associations. The current president of the federation is Tengku Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah. Some member associations of the Asian Hockey Federation are China, India, Pakistan, Iran, Japan, North Korea, South Korea, Oman, Qatar, among others.   

European Hockey Federation comprises 43 member associations. Based in Brussels, Belgium, European Hockey Federation organizes the Euro Hockey League. While, Great Britain is a member association of EHF, Scotland, England, and wales are also represented in FIH sanctioned tournaments independently. Some other European nations that are member associations of EHF are Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, etc.

The governing body for field hockey in Oceania, the Oceania Hockey Federation organizes the Oceania Cup. It has eight member associations which are Australia, Fiji, Papua New Guinea, New Zealand, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Vanuatu, and Samoa Western.

Comprising 30 member countries, the Pan American Hockey Federation is the governing body for indoor and field hockey in the Americas. Some nations that are member associations of the Pan American Hockey Federation are Canada, the United States, Cuba, Brazil, Guyana, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and some other nations.

Recent Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *