Miss Universe Winners: Which Country Has Won The Most Titles in the Last 25 Years?

Next Story

Top NBA Teams in the Past 25 Years

Take a Look at the Number of Times the Nations Have Won the Miss Universe Title
The World Map Shows the Number of Times the Nations Have Won the Miss Universe Title


If you have a theme, we have a map. Contact us for your custom mapping requirements
+1 408 637 0064

Which country has the most beautiful women in the world? This is a tough question to answer if you take a close look at the list of Miss Universe Winners over the years. Founded in 1952, the international beauty pageant has seen women from every continent – ranging from North America to Asia to Africa – winning the coveted crown. Attracting fierce competition, the international beauty pageant is not just about features or personality, but a great deal about intelligence. For the panelists ask some tough questions which can range from politics to personal attributes.

But when we look at the number of titles won in the past 25 years, the South American nation of Venezuela tops the charts. Venezuela, which is known for its women who possess striking beauty, won four crowns from the years 1991 to 2016. The South American nation won the titles in 1996, 2008, 2009, and 2013.

The United States and Puerto Rico won the Miss Universe titles three times each. While USA bagged the titles in the years 1995, 1997 and 2012, Puerto Rico made it big in the years 1993, 2001 and 2006. Mexico and India have won the title two times each. While Mexico won the international beauty pageant in 1991 and 2010, India won in 1994 and 2000.

Other nations that have won the title include Canada, Colombia, Angola, Japan, Dominican Republic, Namibia, Australia, Russia and the Philippines, to name a few. France won the title in 2016.

2016 Iris Mittenaere France
2015 Pia Wurtzbach Philippines
2014 Paulina Vega Colombia
2013 Gabriela Isler Venezuela
2012 Olivia Culpo USA
2011 Leila Lopes Angola
2010 Ximena Navarrete Mexico
2009 Stefanía Fernández Venezuela
2008 Dayana Mendoza Venezuela
2007 Riyo Mori Japan
2006 Zuleyka Rivera Puerto Rico
2005 Natalie Glebova Canada
2004 Jennifer Hawkins Australia
2003 Amelia Vega Dominican Republic
2002 Oxana Fedorova (Dethroned) Russia
2001 Denise Quiñones Puerto Rico
2000 Lara Dutta India
1999 Mpule Kwelagobe Botswana
1998 Wendy Fitzwilliam Trinidad and Tobago
1997 Brook Lee USA
1996 Alicia Machado Venezuela
1995 Chelsi Smith USA
1994 Sushmita Sen India
1993 Dayanara Torres Puerto Rico
1992 Michelle McLean Namibia
1991 Lupita Jones Mexico

Recent Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *