Films that Won the Academy Awards From 2001 to 2017

Next Story

An Insight Into the Number of Deaths From Skin Diseases

World Map Showing Academy Award Winning Movies and Theme Locations
The World Map Shows the Academy Award Winning Films and the Countries of Their Setting


If you have a theme, we have a map. Contact us for your custom mapping requirements
+1 (408) 326-9371

Every year, dozens of Hollywood movies hit the theaters around the world. Some of these sink without a trace while others go on to become box office hits and earn a couple of awards. One of the most prestigious awards that directors, actors and other people of the film industry look forward to are the Academy Awards, which are officially known as the Oscar Awards.

The awards are presented annually by the Academy of Motion Picture and Arts and recognize the achievements in the film industry. The first Academy Awards were held in 1929, while the first radio broadcast took place in 1930. Televised for the first time in 1953, the awards are telecast in more than 200 countries today. A number of movies have won the Oscar Awards since its inception; however, we will be providing a glimpse of the 21st century movies that have bagged the prestigious awards.

Released in the year 2000, Ridley Scott directed Gladiator won multiple awards at the 73rd Academy Awards held in 2001. The movie which had big names like Russell Crowe, Oliver Reed and others is a historical drama set in ancient Rome. The movie grossed $457 million worldwide.

The movie ‘A Beautiful Mind’, based on the life of Nobel Laureate in Economics, John Nash won four Academy Awards in 2002. Starring Russell Crowe, the movie grossed over $313 million worldwide. It was set in the US state of New Jersey. Chicago bagged six Academy Awards in 2003. The movie explores the themes of celebrity, corruption, as well as scandal.

The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King was well received and became the highest grossing film of 2013. It won a whopping 11 awards at the Oscars in 2004. The high fantasy action adventure film is also the fourteenth highest grossing films of all times till date.

Danny Boyle’s 2008 British drama film Slumdog Millionaire depicts the story of Jamal Malik, who lives in the slums of Mumbai, a city in India. The movie won 10 Academy Awards in the 2009 Oscars.

Other top movies at the Oscars were Argo, the Hurt Locker, 12 Years a Slave, No Country for Old Men and many others. Moonlight, which was released in 2016 won the Oscars in 2017.

The table below depicts the years when the movies won the Academy Awards.

Film Year
Gladiator 2001
A Beautiful Mind 2002
Chicago 2003
The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King 2004
Million Dollar Baby 2005
Crash 2006
The Departed 2007
No Country for Old Men 2008
Slumdog Millionaire 2009
The Hurt Locker 2010
The King’s Speech 2011
The Artist 2012
Argo 2013
12 Years a Slave 2014
Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) 2015
Spotlight 2016
Moonlight 2017



Recent Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *