Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent

The 20th Football World Cup took place at several locations across Brazil, the host country of the 2014 tournament. The competition commenced on 12 June 2014 and concluded on 13 July 2014. The 32 days saw 32 teams playing against each other. The teams advanced through a series of qualification process that was conducted through June 2011 to November 2013. The 32 teams were divided into eight groups.

There were a total of 64 matches played in 12 different cities across Brazil. World champions who qualified for the competition, include Brazil, Argentina, France, Spain, England, Italy, Uruguay, and Germany. While Spain, Italy, and England were eliminated at the group level itself, Uruguay was eliminated in Round 16 and France at the quarterfinals. Host country Brazil got eliminated in the first semi-final after having lost to Germany.

At the end of the game, Brazil stood at the fourth place and Netherlands at the third place. Argentina emerged as the runners-up while Germany won the tournament. This made Germany the first European team to win a World Cup in the land of America. It was Germany’s fourth title. This eventually paved the way for Germany’s qualification in the 2017 Football Confederations Cup.

The 2014 Football World Cup first saw the usage of vanishing foam for free kicks and goal-line technology by match officials. The host country drew one million guests from over 202 nations. At the end of the tournament Lionel Messi of Argentina was declared the best player in the tournament; Manuel Neuer of Germany was awarded the best goalkeeper of the tournament, James Rodriguez of Colombia was declared the top goal scorer of the tournament and Paul Pogba of France as the tournament’s best young player. The FIFA Fair Play Trophy was awarded to Colombia.





Top Five Events