Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
Home / Czech Republic / Czech Republic Regions / South Moravian Region Czech Republic

South Moravian Region Czech Republic

South Moravian region is the fourth largest region in Czech Republic, covering an area of 7,196.5 sq. km. The region is located on the southeastern part of the Czech Republic, bordered by Austria and Slovakia.
The region is home to 47 towns and cities including Brno, the second largest city in the Czech Republic. Within the Czech Republic, Moravian Region occupies a significant place in the tourism industry. The region has a rich cultural and historical background and a number of famous architectural monuments inspired by various architectural styles. In the long list of monuments two of them, namely, Villa Tugendhat in Brno and Lednice-Valtice, have been included in the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage List.

The two biosphere reservations in South Moravian Region - Palava and the White Carpathian Mountains are also protected by UNESCO. The Dyje Basin is one of the main attractions of the region which is one of the four national parks of Czech Republic. The Moravian Karst is a protected landscape area, known for stalactite deposits. The archaeological sites like Mikulcice and Dolni Vestonice stand evidence to the glory of the Great Moravian Empire.