US Visa to 6-majority Muslim Countries under 90-day Travel Ban Drops Significantly

  • US Visa applications from six majority-Muslim countries (Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen) have dropped significantly since it came into effect on June 29, 2017. Reports say Supreme Court’s ruling of partial implementation of the President Donald Trump’s 90-days travel ban from 6 Muslim-majority countries has caused this drop in US Visa applications. While the number of visa issued to people from these 6 countries was 4,351 in June 2017, it came down significantly in July and August 2017 to 3,268 and 3,884 visas respectively. The reported drop is noteworthy because visa applications during summer time shoot up due to foreign students preparing to arrive in the US for fall semester.

    US Map