Red Flag warning issued by National Weather Service in six western states

  • According to the National Weather Service, Red Flag warning has been issued across six states in the west. This includes California, Nevada, Montana, New Mexico, Arizona, and Washington.

    A state of emergency has been declared by the governor in Butte County, in northern California, because of a wildfire. California fire service stated that about 5,000 firefighters are batting 14 different fires across the state. One of the most dangerous is the Whittier Fire in Santa Barbara County in coastal Southern California, where Firefighters saved at least 60 campers at a summer camp.

    Western US
    According to the US Forest Service, forty-five fires are burning from New Mexico and Arizona to Washington and Montana. 

    What is a Red Flag Warning?
    A Red Flag Warning is a forecast warning issued by the United States National Weather Service to inform about conditions that are ideal for wildland fire combustion, and rapid spread. For public, a Red Flag Warning means high fire danger with increased probability of a quickly spreading vegetation fire in the area within 24 hours.

    US Wildfires in 6 States