President Trump's administration replaces travel ban with new restriction

  • On Sunday, the US President Trump's administration slapped new travel restrictions on citizens from eight nations - Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela and Yemen. The new proclamations come after the revised travel ban officially expired earlier Sunday. These new restrictions will come into effect from October 18. This measure is seen as a fulfillment of President Trump's campaign promise to tighten procedures for US immigration and align with his vision of “America First”. Shortly after declaring new travel restrictions, US President Trump tweeted, “Making America safe is my number one priority. We will not admit those into our country we cannot vet.” As per the reports, next month the US Supreme Court is set to hear arguments on the legality of the travel ban. 

    US Travel Ban 25 Sept 2017