Nobel Peace Prize goes to Malala Yousafzai and Kailash Satyarthi

  • The 2014 Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded on Friday, October 10, to Pakistan’s Malala Yousafzai and India’s Kailash Satyarthi for their fight against suppression of children, media reports say.

    Malala, 17, the youngest ever winner of the prize, became known around the world after the Taliban shot her in the head for her campaign in favor of girls’ education. She survived and has become a leading activist for girls’ education.

    Following the tradition of Mahatma Gandhi, Satyarthi has run campaigns for several decades to protect children from financial exploitation. 


    Tagged as: Nobel Peace Prize, Pakistan, Malala Yousafzai, Kailash Satyarthi, Taliban, girls education, activists, world news