2016 Copa America to feature six Concacaf teams

  • The 2016 Copa America centenary edition will include 10 teams from South America and six from Central America, North America and the Caribbean, officials have said. The tournament will be played in the US from June 2-26 with the host cities yet to be confirmed, South American football's governing body Conmebol said in a statement on Friday. Football's oldest continental competition will be held outside of its normal four-year cycle to commemorate its 100th anniversary. Each of Conmebol's 10 member-nations are automatically guaranteed a berth while Concacaf's Mexico, the United States, Costa Rica and Jamaica have also booked their places. Panama, Cuba, Haiti and Trinidad and Tobago will compete for three remaining spots at a January tournament in Panama. (Source: IANS)