Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Malawi / Regions / Regions of Malawi

Regions of Malawi

The presence of geographical differences has given rise to the classification of the different parts of Malawi into regions. Regions in Malawi can be distinguished on basis of their surface features and location. The regions in Malawi that have been delineated for the purpose of easy reference and study are the Lakeshore region, the Northern Region, the Central region, the Southern region.

Lake Malawi covers about one-fifth of the land area and extends from Tanzania in the North to Mangochi in the South. This region in Malawi covers a length of 365 miles and is 52 miles in terms of its width. The region is drained by the river Shire and there are fourteen rivers that feed this region in Malawi.

The Northern region of Malawi has Mzuzu as its gateway. This part of Malawi due to its ideal climate is most suitable for agriculture. The important crops that are grown here include coffee and rubber.

The Central part of Malawi is centered around Lilogwe while the Southern part of Malawi includes Zomba, Shire Valley, Mulanje Mountain, and Blantyre.

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."

For further info please get in touch with us at