Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Italy Map / Apulia Map

Apulia Map

One of richest city from archeological point of view is Apulia. The city is the home town of The Castel del Monte, constructed by the Roman Aristocrat Frederick II in mid 1200.

The district is also surrounded by the Adriatic Sea on the east, the Ionian Sea on the southeast corner and the Strait of Otranto and Gulf of Taranto in the south. Under the presidentship of Nichi Vendola,
the territory of Apulia stretches upto an area of 19,345 square km with a population of 4 million people.

Apulia region also shares it national border with Greece and Albania, across the Adriatic and Ionian Seas, respectively and Monte Gargano till the further north. It is the seventh densest region of Italy.

During past, only the northern part of the Apulia province was called Apulia. The southern peninsula was called as Calabria. One of the richest in archeological findings, Apulia's origin dated back to 1st millennium BC. Several Illyric and Italic inhabited that time. Later, the Greeks haunted the land. During the Imperial age Apulia became a prominent commercial area flourishing in productions of grain and oil.

It also became the most important exporter among other Eastern provinces. After the collapse of Rome, Apulia was infested by the Goths, the Lombards and the Byzantines. In 1059, Apulia became a duchy region. Afterwards, in 1861, the fall of Two Sicilies took place and with the formation of social and agrarian reforms, Apulia economy slowly accelerated the pace of other contemporary developed provinces by the mid-20th century Geographically, Apulia consists of vast lands of plains with some broken mountainous plateaus of Gargano Peninsula in the north and also some central parts. Some of the most important places of Apulia region are Alberobello, Andria, Barletta, Canosa, Conversano, Francavilla Fontana, Gallipoli, Gioia del Colle, Gravina in Apulia, Grottaglie, Manfredonia, Martina Franca, Molfetta, Monopoli, Ostuni, Otranto, Palo del Colle, Santa Maria di Leuca, San Giovanni Rotondo, San Vito dei Normanni, Trani Apulia is divided into six provinces:
  • Bari, also the capital of Apulia
  • Taranto
  • Brindisi
  • Foggia
  • Lecce
  • Barletta-Andria-Trani
Agriculture is the chief occupation of Apulia since the recent past that witnessed the expansion of industry rapidly. Some of the main farm products include olives, cereals, almonds, grapes, figs, tobacco, and livestock (sheep, pigs, and goats). Manufacturing products like refined petroleum, chemicals, cement, iron and steel, processed food, plastics, and wine are dominant in Apulia. Fishing is common in Adriatic and Gulf of Taranto regions. Tertiary sector including tourism are increasingly replacing agriculture. The Apulian architecture represents the 11th-13th centuries' Greek, Arab, Norman, and Pisan influences. The universities at Bari and Lecce also stand by major notable places of Apulia.

You May Like

For further info please get in touch with
Bill Spicer Executive VP, MapXL
For US Queries
  +1 408 637 0064