Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Cities / South Africa / Cities in South Africa

Cities in South Africa

South Africa is a country situated at the southern end of the African continent. The country houses three capital cities- Cape Town (legislative capital), Pretoria (administrative capital), and Bloemfontein (judicial capital). Cities in South Africa are renowned for their varied wildlife, diverse traditions, and architectural background.

The Republic of South Africa is a beautiful country in the southern region of Africa. Its neighboring countries are Botswana, Namibia, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, and Swaziland. The country is famous for its diverse culture and languages. Cities in South Africa are renowned for their architectural heritage, wildlife, and beautiful landscapes.

Cities in South Africa

There are three capital cities in South Africa - Cape Town, Pretoria, and Bloemfontein. The entire country is divided into nine provinces and they are again divided into 52 districts. The important cities in South Africa are described below:

Pretoria - retoria is the administrative capital of South Africa. It is situated in the Gauteng Province.

Durban - It is the biggest city in the KwaZulu-Natal Province and the busiest harbor in the continent. The third biggest city of the country, Durban is a famous beach vacation spot for tourists.

Port Elizabeth - Port Elizabeth is a beach city in the Eastern Cape Province. It is situated in the vicinity of the famous Addo Elephant National Park.

Bloemfontein - Houses the South African Supreme Court, which is the apex court in non-constitutional affairs. Bloemfontein serves as the judicial capital of the country and is the capital city of the Free State Province.

Johannesburg - Johannesburg is the financial center of the African continent and the easiest gateway to South Africa. It is the provincial capital of the Gauteng Province.

Cape Town - Cape Town is the seat of the South African National Parliament and the legislative capital of the country. It is a top-notch city and the name of the city has originated from the Cape of Good Hope, which is located nearby. Cape Town is closely situated to the winelands of South Africa. The city is quite picturesque, situated amid the Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean. Cape Town is a famous summer vacation spot for both domestic and international travelers.

Polokwane - Polokwane is the capital of the Limpopo Province. Previously, the name of the city was Pietersburg. Polokwane is an excellent starting point for trips to the northern sections of Zimbabwe and the Kruger National Park.

Upington - Situated in the barren province of Northern Cape, Upington is an outstanding place for traveling around the Kalahari Desert along with various national parks situated in the province.

Kimberley - Kimberley is the capital of the Northern Cape Province. It is known for diamond mining and the "Big Hole" or Kimberley Mine or Open Mine, a huge open-pit mine in the city.