Bangladesh Cities Map

Bangladesh Cities Map
Description:Bangladesh cities map depicting Bangladesh major cities, country capital and country boundary. Disclaimer

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

The People's Republic of Bangladesh is a country located in South Asia. It is a sovereign state and shares its borders with India from all the sides except for Burma in the southeast and Bay of Bengal in the south.

The country covers a a total area of 56,977 square miles. As of 2011, the estimated population of the republic was 142,319,000.

The capital city of Bangladesh is Dhaka. It is located on the banks of Buriganga River and is popularly known as the "City of Mosques". It was established in 1608 CE and was granted city status in 1947. Also known as the Rickshaw Capital of the World, Dhaka is the among the 28th most densely populated cities in the world; the country has an estimated population of 7,000,940.

The Cities Map of Bangladesh shows the national capital marked with a red square enclosed in a square. The Map also shows the major cities and towns, and the international borders of the country.

For administrative purposes, Bangladesh is divided into eight divisions that are further divided into sixty-four districts. The eight divisions are Dhaka, Chittagong, Khulna, Rajshahi, Sylhet, Barisal, Meymensingh and Rangpur. On the map, these divisions are marked as small red dots.

The other major cities and towns in Bangladesh include: Bogra, Comilla, Mymensingh, Pabna, Naogaon, Jessore, Nawabganj, Rangamati, Sunamganj, Jamalpur, Moulvibazar, and Nilphamari.

Bangla is the official language of Bangladesh. An approximate ninety percent of the population in Bangladesh practices Islam. The minority comprises Hindus, Buddhists, Christians, and Animists.

A unitary state, Bangladesh is a parliamentary democracy. The head of the state is the president of the country, while the prime minister is the head of the government. Abdul Hamid is the current President of Bangladesh and Sheikh Hasina is the current Prime Minister.

Bangladesh is a market-based economy. Services sector accounts for 52.8% of the GDP, followed by industries (28.6%), and agriculture (18.6%). Major industries of the country are cotton textiles, jute, garments, tea processing, leather, fish, paper and newsprint, cement, sugar, and cane. The United States, Germany, France, Netherlands, Italy, Kuwait, Japan, China, Hongkong, India, and Singapore are the major trade partners.

Location Maps of Cities in Bangladesh

Last Updated on: May 18, 2017