Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Australia Map / Cities in Australia

Cities in Australia

Australia's major cities include Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide, Cairns, Darwin, and Canberra, the capital.

Cities in Australia
Description : Cities in Australia map depicting all major cities, national capital with international boundary. Disclaimer

Australia Cities Maps
Australia is divided into six states and two mainland territories. The states in Australia are New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, and Western Australia.
Australia's mainland territories are the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory. Each of the states and territories is headquartered at its own capital city.

The capital of Australia is Canberra, which is located in the Australian Capital Territory in southeastern Australia. Canberra has a population of about 367,000, making it the largest inland city in the country, but the eight largest city in all. Canberra covers an area of 814 square kilometers (314 square miles).

The most populous city in Australia is Sydney, which is the capital of New South Wales. Sydney is home to about 4.6 million people, in an area of about 12,144 square kilometers (4,689 square miles). Sydney is a major cultural center of Australia, as the location of the Sydney Opera House, a thriving art scene, and cultural events and festivals.

Melbourne, the capital of Victoria, is the second largest city in Australia with a population of about 4.1 million. The area of Melbourne is about 8,806 square kilometers (3,400 square miles), and it is called Garden City. Melbourne is often considered the cultural capital of Australia, with the headquarters of the country's film and television industry, and major sports and arts center.

Brisbane is Queensland's capital, and the third largest city in Australia with a population of 2.1 million. Brisbane covers an area of 5,949 square kilometers (2,297 square miles) along the east coast of the continent.

Perth is situated in Western Australia and is the largest city and capital of the state. Perth has a population of 1.8 million people living in its metropolitan area, which covers 5,386 square kilometers (2,079 square miles).

The fifth largest city in Australia is Adelaide, the South Australian capital. Adelaide's population numbers about 1.2 million and an area of 1,827 square kilometers (705 square miles).

Cairns in Queensland and Darwin, the capital of the Northern Territory are other important cities in Australia.

Some of the important Australian cities include:-

RankCities or TownsState/Territory
1SydneyNew South Wales
4PerthWestern Australia
5AdelaideSouth Australia
6Gold Coast-TweedQueensland/New South Wales
7NewcastleNew South Wales
8Canberra-QueanbeyanAustralian Capital Territory/New South Wales
*CanberraAustralian Capital Territorya
9WollongongNew South Wales
10Sunshine CoastQueensland
11Greater HobartTasmania
15DarwinNorthern Territory
18Albury-WodongaNew South Wales/Victoria
21MandurahWestern Australia
24Latrobe ValleybVictoria
26BunburyWestern Australia
28Hervey BayQueensland
29Wagga WaggaNew South Wales
30Coffs HarbourNew South Wales
34TamworthNew South Wales
35Port MacquarieNew South Wales
36OrangeNew South Wales
37DubboNew South Wales
38GeraldtonWestern Australia
39Nowra-BomaderryNew South Wales
40BathurstNew South Wales
42Kalgoorlie-BoulderWestern Australia
43LismoreNew South Wales


Last Updated On : February 07, 2013

Looking for Expert Cartography / GIS Services?

Contact - Parminder Singh (+91- 9910492371 IST)

For all Mapping Needs and Business Queries

Contact - Antoine Maddox (+1 408 637 0064 PST)